If Naslund was available this offseason, would you want him?

Forum for Pittsburgh Penguins-related messages.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

If Naslund was available this offseason, would you want him?

Postby Reilly on Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:56 am

Vancouver is having a down year. So is Markus. Assuming they don't make the playoffs I could see them blowing up the team and starting over. Naslund I believe has 2 years left on his deal at 6 million per year. The Pens have a lot of money left under the cap (like 25 million) and need a 1st line winger. I don't think he would cost that much to trade for giving his salary and production.

His Bio

http://www.tsn.ca/nhl/teams/players/bio ... hl-canucks

Now, if you even believe they should go after a top line winger this offseason (whether by trade or the free agent route), would they be better off signing somone to a long term deal (4 or 5 years) or trade for somoene with a a couple years left on their contract (Naslund).

Your thoughts?
Reilly

Postby NIN on Sun Mar 19, 2006 3:38 am

Funny story. I was on the air with MM right before the team with the winning lottery pick was announced. Freakin' hosers cut to a commercial right before it was announced, all for the sale of some Molson. Anyways, MM decided to kill some time by letting me yap and my question to him was, "Is there any chance at all for the Penguins to lure Naslund back this summer?".

Maddens respones was,"Imagine if you had a terrible car accident but survived. Then you moved away and became rich and successful and bought a Lexus to replace your old wrecked car. Would you drive right back to where the accident was?"