But last night took the cake. First, St. Pierre allows a blatant hit from behind by the Habs to go uncalled, leading to a goal. Then, Armstrong scores a legitimate goal and St. Pierre is baffled, then goes to Toronto for help. Well, imagine that, the Canadian warroom helping the Habs. I'm shocked. And yes, that was a legitimate goal. We slow-mo'd the slow motion replay on TiVo, and it was clearly obvious that Armstrong did not move his arm to direct the puck until after the puck had hit him. This is fully covered under NHL Rules 57c and d.
c. A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who deliberately bats the puck with any part of his body across the goal line. A goal cannot be scored where an attacking player bats the puck and it is deflected off any player or goalkeeper into the net.
d. If an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed. The player who deflected the puck shall be credited with the goal.
Now, if I have the technology in my living room to slow this down and see that the puck hit him before he made a "batting motion," then surely they have even better in the warroom. So there can be no other explanation for this other than deliberate bias in favor of Canadian teams.