Verizon FSN HD

Forum for Pittsburgh Penguins-related messages.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

Verizon FSN HD

Postby taiteng on Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:53 am

FYI, haven't checked it out for myself yet, but apparently FSN HD has finally been activated on Verizon FIOS! Now I have close to 100 HD channels, justifying my switch from Comcrap!
taiteng
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:39 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby Kicksave on Wed Oct 15, 2008 10:57 am

Comcast > Fios

At least in my area.
Kicksave
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner
 
Posts: 20,572
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:53 am
Location: Feeling like I want to rage...right now.

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby taiteng on Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:09 am

That may be the case, but here in Ross, Comcast could not deliver more than 15 to 20 HD channels because of the band width, but they still gave the
standard rate increase even though I was getting half the services people in the next township were getting. Plus their standard def was terrible. Now
Verizon has 280 SD channels and 100 HD for less money than I was paying before. Easy decision for me.
taiteng
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:39 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby wallflower on Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:17 am

taiteng wrote:That may be the case, but here in Ross, Comcast could not deliver more than 15 to 20 HD channels because of the band width, but they still gave the
standard rate increase even though I was getting half the services people in the next township were getting. Plus their standard def was terrible. Now
Verizon has 280 SD channels and 100 HD for less money than I was paying before. Easy decision for me.

Same reason why we're probably switching over soon as well. Comcast might be better in some areas but here they're awful.
wallflower
AHL All-Star
AHL All-Star
 
Posts: 6,913
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 1:19 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby Admin on Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:18 am

No Center Ice - No FiOS TV. Maybe next season...
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11,060
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 1:04 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby Kicksave on Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:24 am

taiteng wrote:That may be the case, but here in Ross, Comcast could not deliver more than 15 to 20 HD channels because of the band width, but they still gave the
standard rate increase even though I was getting half the services people in the next township were getting. Plus their standard def was terrible. Now
Verizon has 280 SD channels and 100 HD for less money than I was paying before. Easy decision for me.


Thats funny, because I'm in McCandless. We have Fios for a week and the HD blew. Every. single. channel. The SD channels blew even harder. Plus, no Pens in HD at the time.
Kicksave
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner
 
Posts: 20,572
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:53 am
Location: Feeling like I want to rage...right now.

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby FuturePens on Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:02 pm

I don't have the Verizon FSN HD channel yet...and I live in the south hills pittsburgh area...is it not suppost to be 576 or something?
FuturePens
ECHL'er
ECHL'er
 
Posts: 777
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 3:35 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby taiteng on Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:26 pm

I am not home yet, but I read it on this forum http://www.dslreports.com/forum/r17607157-northeast-FIOS-TV-in-Pittsburgh~start=460
Plus it is in the A&E section of the PG today.
taiteng
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:39 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby 60sixx on Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:39 pm

taiteng wrote:That may be the case, but here in Ross, Comcast could not deliver more than 15 to 20 HD channels because of the band width, but they still gave the
standard rate increase even though I was getting half the services people in the next township were getting. Plus their standard def was terrible. Now
Verizon has 280 SD channels and 100 HD for less money than I was paying before. Easy decision for me.


I'm with you, taiteng. COMCAST BLOWS. I lived in Bellevue/Avalon and was constantly getting price increases for channels that I did not have. I was stuck because I lived in an apartment building. I have since moved into a townhome and got the FiOS bundle. The picture quality is superb and the bundle saves me quite a bit over Comcast. True, they don't have NHL Network, but it can't be far behind.
60sixx
ECHL'er
ECHL'er
 
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Feb 03, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby taiteng on Wed Oct 15, 2008 2:10 pm

Well, I must say that for me comcast blew, but as kicksave said in his area it was pretty good. I just got tired of being jerked around. I hear that comcast could not increase bandwidth for Ross and Castle Shannon for some reason, however it didn't keep them from giving us the same billing rate as someone getting everything. I even tried to warn them that I was going to switch, they didn't care untile I cancelled, only then did they want to do something for me. I'm sure that Verizon probably has its flaws. I just know that what I have now, it is light years ahead of before.
taiteng
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:39 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby gpimpin on Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:00 pm

I can confirm that my Fios in Bethel Park does have the channel...
gpimpin
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:18 pm

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby WWGRD on Wed Oct 15, 2008 6:01 pm

According to my neighbor, Fios in Baldwin does not have the FSN/Mojo HD.
WWGRD
AHL'er
AHL'er
 
Posts: 3,699
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:41 pm
Location: Pittsburgh, PA - Follow @EricP55

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby THEM_BONES on Wed Oct 15, 2008 8:53 pm

On channel 576 my FIOS in Monroeville states coming soon in the info, and on the screen it says your not subscribed to FSN PITTS HD, does anyone know if there is an addition package I have to get?
THEM_BONES
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:20 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby taiteng on Fri Oct 17, 2008 9:11 am

FYI- FSN HD was active on channel 576 last night! Also, according to someone in the know on dslreports.com, NHL Center Ice will be active next week with the NHL Network to follow. Here's his post:

Okay,
I was waiting for today, however, as I was alluding to in previous posts, YES, Center Ice has arrived on FIOS TV!
This morning, I have "Coming Soon" sports channels in the IMG from 1475 - 1488 out of VHO8.
These will be for Center Ice. Ordering will be available next Wednesday, 10/22. All VHO's should see these show up by the end of next week.
At this time, it does not appear that the GAME-HD high def channel will be included.
I hope this makes some folks happy! So, save your $$$ - don't give it to DirecTV - and support VZ!
PS - As Matcarl stated, NHL Network (SD and HD) should arrive in November.
taiteng
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:39 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby Admin on Fri Oct 17, 2008 11:26 am

taiteng wrote:FYI- FSN HD was active on channel 576 last night! Also, according to someone in the know on dslreports.com, NHL Center Ice will be active next week with the NHL Network to follow.

Three days too late. Already subscribed on Comcast. I'll see you next season FiOS TV.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11,060
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 1:04 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby socket on Fri Oct 17, 2008 1:17 pm

I won't get FIOS TV until I can use my own router, which probably means never.

Comcast has been fine for me and cheap.
socket
ECHL'er
ECHL'er
 
Posts: 656
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 1:28 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby Draftnik on Fri Oct 17, 2008 11:45 pm

I just got Comcast today. I have to say it is living down to my expectations. I couldn't wait for FIOS any longer and I needed to get a high speed Internet connection for my wife and kids. The 1080i HD is noticeably worse from Comcast than my Bell ExpressVu 9242. There is a ton of pixelization. The installer claimed it is a limitation of the box, not the cable connection and to watch fast moving action on 720p. The SD channels don't look that good either. The Internet connection maxes out at 9+ MB instead of the advertised 16MB.

I didn't like DirecTV (cancelled after 13/14 years)
I'm counting the days (364+) until I can switch from Comcast.
FIOS never will build the last 100 yards to my house
Even ExpressVu fired up a new satellite at 82 (their HD slot) the same week I installed my 9242 and the signal strength is much weaker than 91 due to a tighter beam with less coverage of the US.
Draftnik
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner
 
Posts: 16,011
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Peters Twp.

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby Admin on Sat Oct 18, 2008 11:16 am

socket wrote:I won't get FIOS TV until I can use my own router, which probably means never.

Comcast has been fine for me and cheap.

I haven't done this but I believe you can put the ActionTec router into bridge mode and then you can use your own router.
Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11,060
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 1:04 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby gpimpin on Mon Oct 20, 2008 12:49 pm

Just talked to Verizon today, I need to upgrade my package to Extreme HD. But if I upgrade to this package, my bill will go down $5 a month???
gpimpin
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:18 pm

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby THEM_BONES on Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:09 pm

Did they downgrade your internet? That's what happened to me when I upgraded the TV to Extreme HD, i guess they dont offer the Extreme HD package with 20/20 internet
THEM_BONES
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:20 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby LtDan on Mon Oct 20, 2008 1:58 pm

i upgraded mine today. she said no charge, bumped up my internet to 20/5 however reduced my contract to a 1 year deal. i am worried now since they have me they'll keep jacking up the price.
LtDan
Junior 'A'
Junior 'A'
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2007 7:12 pm

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby gpimpin on Mon Oct 20, 2008 2:53 pm

My internet was 15/2... so it will stay the same...
gpimpin
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 1:18 pm

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby taiteng on Mon Oct 20, 2008 3:36 pm

I originally signed up to the Premiere package bundled with phone and 10/20 internet for $104.99 a month. One week later they revealed
the Extreme package with 20/5 internet. I called and complained, so they bumped me up for the same monthly fee.
taiteng
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 10:39 am

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby Draftnik on Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:05 pm

Comcast HD for FSN Pittsburgh is very lame. The MOJO channel (774) only broadcasts in 1280x720p for FSN Pittsburgh HD feed. The exact same FSN Pittsburgh feed is shown in 1920x1080i on NHL Center Ice from ExpressVu.
Draftnik
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner
 
Posts: 16,011
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 1:52 pm
Location: Peters Twp.

Re: Verizon FSN HD

Postby THEM_BONES on Sat Oct 25, 2008 7:14 pm

I thought tonights game was supposed to be in HD, anyone else having to watch the game in SD? Verizon is getting a call at the first intermission
THEM_BONES
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 12:20 am

Next

Return to Pittsburgh Penguins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DesertPenguin, lemieuxReturns and 14 guests


e-mail