The Wild - sucking the air out of a rink near you

Forum for Pittsburgh Penguins-related messages.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

The Wild - sucking the air out of a rink near you

Postby The Snapshot on Wed Nov 19, 2008 9:43 am

That team is very good at defense, and always seemingly in position. They took a night off in their previous game (lucky us), so they were bound to be tight as a drum and very conscientious. If we could have popped one or two in the early part of the game it could have been a whole different game, but we didn't.

If that is really "The State of Hockey", I'd say it is one sad state to leave Hockey in.
The Snapshot
AHL Hall of Famer
AHL Hall of Famer

Re: The Wild - sucking the air out of a rink near you

Postby pensfan20 on Wed Nov 19, 2008 9:49 am

I truely believe that in order to get rid of the trap that they play and the NJ plays and a couple other teams that try to play it, is to get bigger rinks. Im no scientist, but bigger rinks would open the game up and give players more room to enter the neutral zone, and one could argue that with more room to skate, big hits would also drop? Dont know if the league would ever attempt this, as every arena would loose at least 2-3 rows of seating.
pensfan20
ECHL'er
ECHL'er

Postby shmenguin on Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:07 am

i don't know about all this wild hate. we had our share of scoring chances, as did they. it could have been a 4-3 game, it's just no one could execute.

speaking of the rink...did anyone else think the ice was particularly horrible last night? i'm guessing there was a concert there or something the night before. both teams were constantly flubbing the puck. it was really odd.
shmenguin
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner

Postby penny lane on Wed Nov 19, 2008 10:11 am