Could Tickets be cheaper soon?

Forum for Pittsburgh Penguins-related messages.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

Could Tickets be cheaper soon?

Postby npv708 on Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:25 am

Forbes and Yahoo think so, as it named the Pens one of the top 10 pro sport teams that could slash ticket prices...

Three-year ticket price increase: 27%

Projected 2009 employment growth: -1.1%

Projected 2009 real personal income growth: 1.4%

A sizable chunk of Pittsburgh's workforce is employed in the education and health services sector, keeping employment risk under control. Still, the cost for a family of four has jumped to $276 from $217 since the 2005-'06 season.

http://www.forbes.com/2008/11/18/mlb-st ... peed=15000

I personally, would rejoice at this since I'm a broke college student.
npv708
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner

Re: Could Tickets be cheaper soon?

Postby Mongoose87 on Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:39 am

Along with that drastic increase in price, we've also seen a drastic increase in talent and performance. Mongoose87 says niet to lowered prices.
Mongoose87
AHL All-Star
AHL All-Star

Postby manicmonday18 on Wed Nov 26, 2008 8:49 am

THe biggest flaw with that logic is assuming that the Penguins are an Allegheny-and-surrounding-counties only phenomena. If a subset of people quit buying tickets, instead of lowering ticket prices a new subset would just swipe them up. The Penguins draw on a regular basis from Somerset-Bedford to Steubenville as far as a typical season ticket holder base. That's a huge population that can regularly[i][/i] make games. Add in those not always in town and those from out of town and no matter how poor those in Allegheny county get, others will be running right over them to pay current prices.
manicmonday18
ECHL'er
ECHL'er

Postby Keith on Wed Nov 26, 2008 9:20 am