bafcats wrote:Chris Kunitz wasn't given a boarding penalty on the play. He was given a checking from behind penalty.
43.1 Checking from Behind – A check from behind is a check delivered on a player who is not aware of the impending hit, therefore unable to protect or defend himself, and contact is made on the back part of the body. When a player intentionally turns his body to create contact with his back, no penalty shall be assessed.
And now that I'm looking at the rules, how he got a game misconduct for it makes a lot more sense (within the context of the rulebook, anyway). According to rule 43.2, there is no provision for a minor penalty. If you get called for checking from behind, it's an automatic major. And furthermore, rule 43.5 states that "a game misconduct penalty must be assessed any time a major penalty is applied for checking from behind." So the both of those were a given as soon as the call was made. How Bailey acted after hitting the boards had nothing to do with it (on the ref's end, anyway). We'll just have to see how Shanahan calls it.
....thanks for posting the rule....obviously the wrong call here based on the rule "not aware of impending hit", if Bailey wasn't aware he was going to be hit why did he drop his soulder slightly and try the old shoulder down then up check to get leverage, if this is given anything other than a cursory look by the league I'll be shocked, this is a great example of results based officiating, which the NHL has mastered. Bailey basically took on more than he could handle in Kunitz in a dangerous part of ice.