LetsTalkWine...

Forum for posts that are not hockey-related.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

LetsTalkWine...

Postby canaan on Mon Dec 17, 2007 11:48 pm

Who are are wine drinkers? I've been on a wine kick for the past 2 months or so and i'm really digging all of the intricacies of smelling and tasting wines. I'm still a newb, but i'm learning (with my ultimate introduction to wine book in pocket) and it would be interesting to here about some good local (PA) wineries. This thread is for the wine folk. While I quite thoroughly enjoy beer, I'm really enjoying the culture and environment of the wine community so far.

I just picked up the holiday selection from Chaddsford Winery out here in Eastern, PA.

edit: and by talking wine, i do not mean talking about sid's temperament on the ice :P
canaan
NHL Third Liner
NHL Third Liner

Postby ville5 on Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:46 am

Dago Red. Nuff said.
ville5
AHL'er
AHL'er

Postby Sam's Drunk Dog on Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:18 pm

I don't really know of any good local wineries. I went to one near Altoona before with my girlfriend. We got this fruity wine that was like a berry blend or something like that. I was a couple years ago so that's all I really remember.

As for imports try a Sangiovese. It is a red wine that isn't dry or sweet. I think the state stores carry two brands: Santa Cristina and Placido Primavera.

Try googling PA wineries and you should find some websites that can give you more info.
Sam's Drunk Dog
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner

Postby eddysnake on Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:46 pm

Thunder Bird, Night Train, and Wild Irish Rose all make for very cheap interesting nights.....that aside, some of the better wines that I enjoy and recomend are Chateau Graysac Bordeaux, Yellow Tail Shiraz, Rojo Mojo Shiraz

There are a lot of very nice wineries at Geneva, OH ( by Ashtubula not far from Erie)
eddysnake
NHL Healthy Scratch
NHL Healthy Scratch

Postby Mad City Mike on Tue Dec 18, 2007 2:16 pm