Any real estate investors in here?

Forum for posts that are not hockey-related.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

Any real estate investors in here?

Postby itissteeltime on Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:29 pm

Tiny bit of background: I graduated from UMD in 2010 with an unrelated degree. I've since been working in real estate (costar group). I'm very much interested in getting involved in investment, and plan on going back to school for an MBA focused on real estate. In the meantime, I feel like I've learned enough to make a small investment, which I feel is low risk. I plan on going halfsies with a buddy of mine, again to minimize risk on our first investment. We have our eyes set on a 2br 1.5 bath condo in a not so nice area of DC. Our dream is to eventually start up our own investment firm.

Does anybody have any advice? Any good books or other learning portals? Any awesome success stories, or failures?
Last edited by itissteeltime on Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
itissteeltime
AHL'er
AHL'er

Re: Any real estate investors in here?

Postby mac5155 on Fri Oct 19, 2012 2:30 pm

The obvious, is make sure your buddy wont screw you out of his half of the investment if something crazy in his life happens.
mac5155
NHL Third Liner
NHL Third Liner

Postby KennyTheKangaroo on Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:14 pm

learn how to fix stuff

learn how to have enough money sitting around just in case you have to pay for stuff you cant fix

good luck with crap tennants

dont go in with the notion that you just have to generate enough income to pay for the mortgage/real estate taxes. because you will have to pay for expensive stuff.
KennyTheKangaroo
NHL Healthy Scratch
NHL Healthy Scratch

Postby KennyTheKangaroo on Fri Oct 19, 2012 3:18 pm

note: kenny the kangaroo is not a real estate investor, but works with many people that have real estate investments.
KennyTheKangaroo
NHL Healthy Scratch
NHL Healthy Scratch

Postby DudeMan2766 on Fri Oct 19, 2012 4:27 pm