Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Forum for posts that are not hockey-related.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby Hockeynut! on Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:27 pm

I'd like to add a second hard drive and bump up my RAM in my PC. Right now I have 6 GB of ram (two 2 gb cards and two 1 gb cards). My motherboard maxes out at 8gb so I'd like to replace the 1s with 2s. Is it as simple as pulling the old cards out and putting two new ones in?

I'd also like to add another internal drive. It looks like there's space inside the system but I'm not 100% sure. If I do get another HD, is it ready to go after installation or do I need to take further steps?

Dumb questions, I know, but I've never done anything "inside" the computer. ;)
Hockeynut!
AHL'er
AHL'er
 
Posts: 4,427
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:55 am

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby Rocco on Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:30 pm

Just make sure the RAM you get is the same type as the RAM you have in the computer.
Rocco
NHL Third Liner
NHL Third Liner
 
Posts: 36,522
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:34 am
Location: Manor Farm

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby mac5155 on Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:38 pm

That. And make sure the HDD is compatible. Probably need a SATA
mac5155
NHL Third Liner
NHL Third Liner
 
Posts: 48,149
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:06 pm
Location: governor of Fayettenam

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby Hockeynut! on Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:51 pm

Thanks! I did find RAM the same type of ram and I do know I'll need a SATA hd.
Hockeynut!
AHL'er
AHL'er
 
Posts: 4,427
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 8:55 am

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby mac5155 on Mon Apr 15, 2013 9:59 pm

Essentially plug and play now. Just there's a ton of plugs and it looks scary.
mac5155
NHL Third Liner
NHL Third Liner
 
Posts: 48,149
Joined: Wed Dec 20, 2006 8:06 pm
Location: governor of Fayettenam

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby thepittman on Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:00 pm

Thousands of youtube videos of doing this. Just watch one and you'll be fine
thepittman
AHL Hall of Famer
AHL Hall of Famer
 
Posts: 8,165
Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 2:52 pm
Location: (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby Willie Kool on Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:19 pm

Willie Kool
AHL All-Star
AHL All-Star
 
Posts: 6,014
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 8:27 pm
Location: Walkin' in a Yinzer Wonderland

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby Letang Is The Truth on Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:28 pm

mac5155 wrote:Essentially plug and play now. Just there's a ton of plugs and it looks scary.


This.

I upgraded video card and power supply a year ago. I was half way through, PC completely gutted and had a moment of despair thinking WTF. Turned out all good.
Letang Is The Truth
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner
 
Posts: 24,499
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 1:59 pm
Location: The Panda Will Fly Away On A Rainbow

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby Idoit40fans on Tue Apr 16, 2013 6:45 am

Video card has always been relatively easy, i've changed those a few times. I assume the HD is similar. RAM is definitely easy to change. Actually I'm on an iMac now, so really all I can change is RAM, and thats incredibly easy on the iMac.
Idoit40fans
NHL Third Liner
NHL Third Liner
 
Posts: 53,889
Joined: Sat Dec 09, 2006 1:42 pm
Location: I'm sorry you feel that way

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby Azkar on Tue Apr 16, 2013 7:10 am

There's pretty much only one place that everything goes, if it looks like it fits, it probably does with not *too* much effort.

Like others have said, the most important part is making sure you get the same kind of ram.
Azkar
AHL'er
AHL'er
 
Posts: 4,425
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 3:54 pm
Location: PFISEA

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby shmenguin on Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:02 am

i'm thinking back to the pre-sata days where you had to worry about master/slave stuff and changing jumpers on your drives. you kids today have it easy.
shmenguin
NHL Fourth Liner
NHL Fourth Liner
 
Posts: 23,621
Joined: Mon Nov 06, 2006 10:34 pm

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby pittsoccer33 on Tue Apr 16, 2013 8:07 am

Hockeynut! wrote:I'd also like to add another internal drive. It looks like there's space inside the system but I'm not 100% sure. If I do get another HD, is it ready to go after installation or do I need to take further steps?


Theres a good chance when you boot the computer up you will have a problem initially. Look at the bios screens when the computer is starting and make sure it lists your new drive. This way you know that the motherboard is seeing it.

The next trick is to make windows see it. I bet when you click on My Computer right after installing it that the drive will not be showing. Try this link http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows7/ ... dows-7.htm

I think you can find the appropriate menu if you type Computer Management into the Windows 7 universal serach bar.

Once you're there you will see the new hard drive as unallocated space. You just need to give the drive a letter and you will be good to go.
pittsoccer33
AHL All-Star
AHL All-Star
 
Posts: 6,591
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:06 pm

Re: Is it easy to add a hard drive and RAM?

Postby tifosi77 on Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:39 am

Also be sure that your RAM matches your mobo voltage. Last system rebuild I did (2 yrs ago), I accidentally purchased memory that was a few tenths off on the voltage. Ran my kit by a friend (who does system builds for ARSTechnica) and he spotted the problem and got me sorted before installation. I actually still have that RAM in my cabinet at work. :(
tifosi77
NHL Healthy Scratch
NHL Healthy Scratch
 
Posts: 12,446
Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:33 pm
Location: White-Juday Warp Field Interferometer


Return to NHR

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Eismann and 4 guests


e-mail