Selling A House on Your Own

Forum for posts that are not hockey-related.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

Selling A House on Your Own

Postby RxBandit66 on Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:05 pm

I've done this three times now, no real estate agent needed. Saved a ton of money on closing costs too, for both the buyer and for myself. Granted, I've been teaching economics for 12 years, so I'd like to think I've got a little more knowledge than the lay person, but they have the forms at Staples that you can buy to assist you. Removing these costs is so easy, and the extra money can be used to improve your new home and increase the value and equity in it.

I strongly encourage anyone who is selling to consider doing this on your own. Building positive equity and increasing your home value is a HUGE step towards a happy and early retirement.
RxBandit66
AHL All-Star
AHL All-Star

Re: Selling A House on Your Own

Postby AlexPKeaton on Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:08 pm

How much money do you save exactly? In my situation it is a 45 minute drive from my new house to my old house, so I'm not sure I want to show the house myself all the time.
AlexPKeaton
NHL Healthy Scratch
NHL Healthy Scratch

Postby RxBandit66 on Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:16 pm

AlexPKeaton wrote:How much money do you save exactly? In my situation it is a 45 minute drive from my new house to my old house, so I'm not sure I want to show the house myself all the time.

Well, if you find a lender who does not require things like surveys and home inspectors, that saves a grand, possibly more. The real estate agent gets 6% commission, so there's another chunk saved. But in my case, I live in the house while I'm selling it, so it's easy for me to show it to potential buyers. Otherwise you'd have to schedule all of your showings on the same day to reduce the driving.
RxBandit66
AHL All-Star
AHL All-Star

Postby mac5155 on Mon Jun 03, 2013 12:17 pm