How do you access your music and movies on the go?

Forum for posts that are not hockey-related.

Moderators: Three Stars, dagny, pfim, netwolf

How do you access your music and movies on the go?

Postby pittsoccer33 on Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:30 pm

I've been screwing with server software for a few years and I've finally found the solution I'll be sticking with - Plex. Anyone else using it? It's a fantastic way to access your digital media library. Instead of putting your music in a cloud you are turning your home computer into a cloud.

Plex is a fork from XBMC and has so many parts its a little bit confusing to wrap your head around at first:
-Plex Media Server is software for computers and NAS devices
-a DLNA server for DLNA devices like Xbox 360, smart tvs, bluray players, etc
-playback clients apps for iOS, Android, Roku, Google TV, etc
-a web interface for accessing your home media on any PC
-a front end for HTPCs

You install the server software on your home pc with all your media on it and create an account. If you want to access it from your phone you download the app for your operating system and log in to your account. Instantly you have all your files ready to play.

What really makes Plex stand out is the video transcoder. Transcoding is taking a video file with certain codecs that don't work on your device and turning it into another file that is compatible in real time. You need a newer PC to do this because the CPU usage is really high, but on Plex it works really well.
pittsoccer33
AHL All-Star
AHL All-Star

Re: How do you access your music and movies on the go?

Postby GSdrums87 on Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:35 pm

Smashing, Basil.
GSdrums87
ECHL'er
ECHL'er

Postby Troy Loney on Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:36 pm

I'm still clinging to the Ipod.

My friend swears by Imatch.
Troy Loney
NHL Third Liner
NHL Third Liner

Postby Shyster on Mon Aug 12, 2013 3:42 pm

I don't watch movies or listen to music on the go.
Shyster
AHL All-Star
AHL All-Star