Staggy wrote:No, because Miller 1) isn't a player you can legally hit and 2) Lucic was barreling down on Miller for 100 feet, had every opportunity to see him and avoid him but he decided to just go right through him. Sarich didn't have a chance to avoid Hall. Hall fell when Sarich was one stride away from him. Of course his elbow will make contact with him if the guy falls into it.
If you're going to use unrealistic scenarios so will I: so what you're saying is that if Crosby purposely dives head first into say Hartnell's elbow when Harntell's trying to hit him, then Hartnell is responsible for it?
How am I using unrealistic scenarios? The events in my post actually happened.
Lucic was playing the puck and it was clear from the get-go that he was going to, Miller should've stayed in his crease if he wanted to be assured safety (also, Lucic sees Miller less than second before impact in the video - he's clearly not Lucic charging at Miller for 100 feet across the ice).
If he Sarich had lead with his shoulder properly his elbow shouldn't have made contact with Hall. He attempts to destroy a vulnerable opponent (another complaint many people have on here).
I was referring to your high stick scenario. And I still don't know how you inferred that I'd be okay with a goalie getting trucked over when I was talking about a player not being able to react when someone falls right before he was going to hit him.
Lucic sees Miller at the last second (although I think he could see him prior to that) because he had his head down the whole way. Just because you have your head down doesn't give you an excuse to hit a goalie. If you want to argue that goalies should be allowed to be hit if they leave their crease then I'm fine with that, but the current rules actually do assure Miller safety if he wants to skate out to play the puck.
Yes Sarich was trying to destroy a vulnerable opponent but that's not the hit that happened. He was going for a big hit that may or may not have been legal, and then Hall fell which negated that hit. Sarich's elbow was down the entire time. He was leaning in to hit him with his shoulder when Hall fell which caused Sarich's arm to make contact with his head. From the side view, you can see Sarich never adjusts his elbow position after Hall fell.
If he Sarich had lead with his shoulder properly his elbow shouldn't have made contact with Hall.
Actually it's the opposite. If Sarich had led illegally (with his elbow) then there would be no chance for his elbow to make contact with Hall's head because his elbow would be far too high. Sarich leading with his shoulder while keeping his elbow low was actually what caused the contact to the head. I don't know how Hall falling into his elbow can be deemed an illegal hit.