Work outs.

Forum for posts that are not hockey-related.
ejd43
ECHL'er
ECHL'er

Work outs.

Post by ejd43 »

Any fellow LGPers work out or exercise on the regular? I have been out of shape for far to long. I graduated high school in 04 at 175, but am now pushing 240. I’ve made the decision to get back into shape, and honestly have no clue where to start. I’d rather ease into instead of starting out pushing too hard and getting discouraged and quitting. Any help, and pointers would be much appreciated.
Defence21
AHL'er
AHL'er

Re: Work outs.

Post by Defence21 »

I am out of shape as well, so I cannot offer a whole lot, but a few years back I tried to get in shape and found it to be only mildly inconvenient. I stopped because I was working out in the mornings, and it just put too much of a strain on our morning routine when my daughter started school.

I would walk/run four miles, then return home and do pushups and situps in intervals. In all, I'd say I put in about 30-40 minutes a day and felt truly good while doing it. Can't say I lost a ton of weight, but I didn't need to lose a ton, either. What I did notice was that I was getting more toned and less frumpy.

Good luck!
Durbano
ECHL'er
ECHL'er

Post by Durbano »

I’m not a fitness freak but have regularly worked out for most of my life (I’m in my early 50s). Still weigh the same as during the high school days. I joined a gym in late 2004 when I quit dipping, because I was afraid I’d end up weighing 400 lbs. Since then, I have never gone more than three days without working out, and in the last few years, I’ve never missed more than two days in a row.

I’d suggest a balanced approach. Portion control will help. Join a gym so you’re invested in more ways than one. Mix your workouts so they include cardio, strength training, core exercises and stretching. You really don’t need a personal trainer in the long run, but it may be worth paying for an introductory session or two.